Great Quotes and Boats

 
  

I never stay away from workouts. I work hard. I’ve tried to take care of my body, I’ll never look back and say that I could have done more. I’ve paid the price in practice, but I know I will get the most out of my ability.

– Carl Yaztrzemski, Boston Red Sox 1961-1983, 18x All-Star, 7x Gold Glove, 3,419 hits, 452 home runs, 1,844 RBIs, second on the all-time list for games played and third for total at-bats. In one year, (1966-1967) Yaz managed to improve his stats: home runs 16 to 44, RBIs 80 to 121, and batting average .278 to .326, hitting .522 in the last two weeks of the season. That was the year referred to as The Impossible Dream with the Sox winning the Pennant, the American League Championship for the first time since 1946 earning Yaz the American League MVP and the Triple Crown. “And if I have my choice between a pennant and a triple crown, I’ll take the pennant every time.”

Leave a Reply

